Fish Fry & Homemade Ice Cream. Sunday – October 27, 2019 11 AM – 2 PM. Winside Legion Post. Winside Nebraska

Post Home

American Legion
Post 252

Post Home

American Legion Auxiliary

Founded in 1919, The American Legion Auxiliary has nearly 1 million members from all walks of life. The Auxiliary administers hundreds of volunteer programs, gives tens of thousands of hours to its communities and to veterans, and raises millions of dollars to support its own programs, as well as other worthwhile charities familiar to Americans. It is all accomplished with volunteers. While originally organized to assist The American Legion, the Auxiliary has achieved its own unique identity while working side-by-side with the veterans who belong to The American Legion. Like the Legion, the Auxiliary’s interests have broadened to encompass the entire community. The American Legion Auxiliary is the world’s largest women’s patriotic service organization. Through its nearly 10,500 units located in every state and some foreign countries, the Auxiliary embodies the spirit of America that has prevailed through war and peace. Along with The American Legion, it solidly stands behind America and her ideals.


JULY 1, 2015 THRU JUNE 30, 2016

The American Legion Auxiliary of Roy Reed Post No. 252 was organized at Winside, Nebraska on June 25, 1925, with thirty-seven (37) members. The first officers were: Mrs. Mary Reed – President; Mrs. George Pinion – Vice President; Mrs. V. L. Siman – Secretary; Mrs. B. E. Katz – Treasurer; Mrs. George Sweigard – Chaplain; Mrs. Henry Wacker – Historian; and Mrs. A. C. Gaebler – Sergeant-at-Arms.

The Unit’s Charter members are – Mrs. Mary Reed, Mrs. George Pinion, Mrs. V. L. Siman, Mrs. B. E. Katz, Mrs. George Sweigard, Mrs. Henry Wacker, Mrs. A. C. Gabler, Mrs. Perry Brodd, Mrs. Edwin Damme, Miss Ruby Reed, Mrs. Ludwig Rhemus, Miss Opal McClary, Miss Mildred McClary, Mrs. Jesse Witte, Mrs. H. S. Moses, Mrs. Ben Lewis, Mrs. George Meade, Mrs. R. E. Gormley, Mrs. Irving Moses, Mrs. Louie Ehlers, Mrs. Ray Radford, Mrs. Rebecca Cadwallader, Mrs. A. H. Schmale, Mrs. Frank Wilson, Mrs. Harry Siman, Mrs. Ed. Hovendick, Mrs. Art Herschied, Mrs. Frank Gray, Mrs. W. O. Smith, Mrs. Henry Loebsack, Mrs. Chris Nelson Jr., Miss Bessie Leary, Miss Myrtle Leary, Miss Blanche Leary, Mrs. I. F. Gaebler, Mrs. Wallace Cadwallader and Miss Edna Heyer.

Elected Officers serving for 2015 - 2016 are – Mrs. Rose Ann Janke – President; Mrs. Donna Edwards (Butch) – Vice President; Mrs. Beverly A. Neel (Robert) – Secretary/Historian; Pam Greunke – Treasurer; Mrs. Janice Mundil (Joseph) – Chaplain; and Mrs. Marilyn Morse (Ralph) – Sergeant-at-Arms. Appointed Chairmanships: Beverly Neel – Membership; Mary Lou George (Robert) – Girls State; Donna Edwards – Poppy – Pam Greunke – Constitution & Bylaws.

We meet First Saturday of the month at 9:30 AM at the Winside Legion Post. All members are encouraged to attend. We are always looking for new members as well as former members who may wish to re-join. Come join the conversation.